Interview with Min-Sung Sean Kim

Venture Capitalist and Fund Advisor

"There is an enormous potential for the health of our society in digital health start-ups!"

About Min-Sung Sean Kim

Min-Sung Sean Kim is an expert in venture capital and digital health and acts as a fund advisor. As a former company founder, he knows the challenges and difficulties of building a business. As an investor, he has invested in both early stage and later stage companies, as well as in venture capital funds. As part of his investment activities, Min-Sung was a partner of a Berlin-based venture capitalist specializing in digital health investments and later participated in the successful establishment of the strategic growth fund. All this makes him a real industry expert. Min-Sung sees the opportunities offered by digitization in the healthcare industry in particular in the positive effects for society - he always keeps an eye on the trends and innovations in Germany and overseas.

Magnus

As an investor, you focused on the digital health industry very early on. How did it come about? When did you realize that it was worth investing here?

Min-Sung

I am a big fan of social responsibility. In the healthcare sector, two worlds come together that have a great attraction for me. On the one hand I can work in the economic sector and on the other hand I can get involved in social activities. When the opportunity arose to invest in the healthcare sector with XLHEALTH, I saw the enormous potential that start-ups can have for the health of society. That is why I have chosen this path.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

From the pioneering work in Germany as an investor in digital health to the present day - what has changed?

Min-Sung

The teams are no longer "first time" founders. Many of them have good experience from other verticals (e.g. operational experience or experience with investors). In addition, the number of investors dealing with the topic of digital health has increased. Likewise, more and more corporations understand that digitization is becoming more important and that they need to open up a little.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

In view of the Digital Supply Act (DVG), which will come into force at the beginning of 2020, the industry will undergo a number of changes: What does this mean for startups in the digital health sector?

Min-Sung

For high-quality Digital Health Start-ups, the DVG simplifies the assumption of costs by the statutory health insurance - a long overdue step. Really exciting and a world leader is the quality assessment provided for in the process, in which providers can prove a positive effect on care for the first time with real application data outside clinical studies. The amount of reimbursement depends on the actual outcome of the treatment - an issue that is becoming increasingly important for all care providers. I am convinced that continuous evaluation and individual adjustment of treatment is a key element of the healthcare of the future - which is why I have invested in Thryve, among others, a specialist in comprehensive health measurement.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Also with the Digital Supply Act (DVG), health insurance companies may now - in order to promote the development of digital innovations - use up to two percent of their financial reserves for investments, e.g. in start-ups. Are the health insurance companies already in the starting blocks? How will this change the market for Digital Health in Germany?

Min-Sung

In the past, many health insurance funds had already created opportunities to cooperate with ventures and to invest in individual cases (Barmer, Healthy Hub). The DVG is now creating far more precise possibilities and incentives to expand this and health insurance companies are showing great interest in using these possibilities.

It is too early to say whether and how this will shape the market for Digital Health. This is because the detailed framework conditions for direct investment are still unclear - for example, how the risk of loss for the funds can be limited and to what extent this will limit the ability of a venture capital vehicle to act. Investments will probably work best in those areas where cash registers are also a natural strategic partner due to their business model. This applies, for example, to the field of chronic diseases, the costs of which must be borne by health insurance funds, or to the area of the anonymised use of data from digital health records, which health insurance funds must make available to all insured persons from 2021. 2020 will therefore be a very exciting year for our scene! I'm looking forward to it!

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

You have made worldwide investments in Digital Health for Allianz. With your international outlook: What trends are emerging for the digital health industry? Are there differences between Germany, Europe and overseas?

Min-Sung

In America we are further ahead with telemedicine than in Europe. Although companies like Doctolib and Kry have also raised considerable sums of money. Increasing digitisation makes it possible to move from a fee-for-service culture to an evidence-based reimbursement system. It will be no different in Europe.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

How do you determine whether a company in the digital healthcare industry is worth investing in? What criteria do you pay particular attention to?

Min-Sung

The market dynamics and revenue are important indicators for me. I also always pay close attention to the team and their integrity, competence, compatibility and humility.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Are you annoyed about investments that have not been made?

Min-Sung

Definitely. In some cases, however, one is glad not to have invested.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

You are also co-founder of digitalhealthVC. There you will regularly report on the news and insights of the digital health industry with your newsletter "15min Digital Health Briefing". In your opinion, what has been the most exciting news for you in the last few months?

Min-Sung

Clearly - four Digital Health IPOs! It was about time ;). In general it is fun to see what happens, even if it is sometimes really frustrating. Digital Health is still new territory, not only in Germany, but also in America and all of Europe. If you want to read more about it, feel free to subscribe here: https://bit.ly/2LRaFh3

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

You travel a lot. What are your top 3 things to recharge your batteries after a day full of appointments?

Min-Sung

Walks with my Labrador, a good breakfast with my wife and learning something new every day. This is how I charge my batteries.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

As a digital health enthusiast - which modern digital gadgets do you use and for which sport?

Min-Sung

I am a big fan of the Apple-Watch, because it measures all activities (including swimming). Furthermore, one of my Laterstage Investments has a cooperation with Apple!

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

And outside of the health industry, digital media and the start-up world: What inspires you?

Min-Sung

I would very much like to find back to my piano passion. I have been playing the piano since I was 6 years old. I have lost this passion for about 5 years and I wish to get it back.
Min-Sung Sean Kim

YAS.life for your company

Offer your target group a tailor-made solution for digital health prevention as a free bonus program. In this way you promote more exercise and a healthy lifestyle. Based on our experience with the YAS app, we offer you individual solutions: whether for statutory health insurance companies, private insurance companies or within the scope of company health management.

Min-Sung Sean Kim im Interview

Venture Capitalist und Fund Advisor

“In Digital-Health-Startups steckt ein enormes Potential für die Gesundheit unserer Gesellschaft!”

Über Min-Sung Sean Kim

Min-Sung Sean Kim ist Experte für Venture Capital und digitale Gesundheit und ist als Fonds Advisor tätig. Als ehemaliger Unternehmensgründer kennt er die Herausforderungen und Schwierigkeiten beim Aufbau eines Business. Als Investor hat er in sowohl in Earlystage-, als auch in Laterstage-Unternehmen investiert, sowie sich an Venture Capital Fonds beteiligt. Im Rahmen seiner Investorentätigkeit war Min-Sung Partner eines in Berlin ansässigen Wagniskapitalgebers, welcher sich auf digitale Gesundheitsinvestitionen spezialisiert hat und später an der erfolgreichen Gründung des strategischen Wachstumsfonds beteiligt war. Das alles macht ihn zu einem wirklichen Branchenkenner. Die Chancen der Digitalisierung der Gesundheitsbranche sieht Min-Sung insbesondere in den positiven Auswirkungen für die Gesellschaft – die Trends und Innovationen in Deutschland und Übersee hat er dabei immer im Blick.

Magnus

Schon sehr früh hast Du Dich als Investor auf die Digital-Health-Branche fokussiert. Wie kam es dazu? Wann hast Du gemerkt, dass es sich hier zu investieren lohnt?

Min-Sung

Ich bin ein großer Fan von sozialer Verantwortung. Im Healthcare Bereich treffen zwei Welten zusammen, die auf mich einen großen Reiz ausüben. Zum Einen kann ich im ökonomischen Sektor tätig sein und zum Anderen kann ich mich hier gesellschaftlich engagieren. Als sich dann die Möglichkeit anbot mit XLHEALTH im Healthcare Bereich zu investieren, sah ich das enorme Potential, das die Startups für die Gesundheit der Gesellschaft haben können. Daher habe ich mich für diesen Weg entschieden.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Von der Pionierarbeit in Deutschland als Investor in Digital Health bis heute - was hat sich verändert?

Min-Sung

Die Teams sind mittlerweile keine “First Time“ Gründer mehr. Viele bringen gute Erfahrungen aus anderen Verticals mit (z. B. Operative Erfahrung bzw. Erfahrung mit Investoren). Darüber hinaus hat sich die Zahl der Investoren erhöht, die sich mit dem Thema Digital Health auseinandersetzen. Ebenso verstehen immer mehr Konzerne, dass Digitalisierung wichtiger wird und sie sich ein wenig öffnen müssen.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Im Hinblick auf das Digitale Versorgungsgesetz (DVG), das Anfang 2020 in Kraft tritt, wird sich in der Branche einiges ändern: Was bedeutet das für Startups im Digital Health-Bereich?

Min-Sung

Für qualitativ hochwertige Digital Health Startups vereinfacht das DVG die Kostenübernahme durch die gesetzliche Krankenversicherung - ein längst überfälliger Schritt. Wirklich spannend und weltweit führend ist die dabei vorgesehene Qualitätsbewertung, bei der Anbieter einen positiven Versorgungseffekt erstmals auch mit echten Anwendungsdaten außerhalb klinischer Studien nachweisen können. Die Höhe der Erstattung hängt dabei vom tatsächlichen Behandlungsergebnis ab - ein Thema, dass für alle Leistungserbringer zunehmend entscheidend wird. Ich bin überzeugt, dass die kontinuierliche Bewertung und individuelle Anpassung der Behandlung ein Schlüsselelement der Gesundheitsversorgung der Zukunft ist - daher habe ich unter anderem in Thryve investiert, einen Spezialisten für die umfassende Messung von Gesundheit.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Ebenfalls mit dem Digitalen Versorgungsgesetz (DVG) dürfen Krankenkassen nun - um die Entwicklung digitaler Innovationen zu fördern - bis zu zwei Prozent ihrer Finanzreserven für Investments z. B. in Startups einsetzen. Stehen die Krankenkassen schon in den Startlöchern? Wie wird dies den Markt für Digital Health in Deutschland verändern?

Min-Sung

Viele Kassen hatten in der Vergangenheit bereits Möglichkeiten geschaffen mit Ventures zu kooperieren und vereinzelt zu investieren (Barmer, Healthy Hub). Das DVG schafft nun weit präzisere Möglichkeiten und Anreize, dies auszubauen und Kassen zeigen großes Interesse eben diese Möglichkeiten zu nutzen.

Es ist zu früh zu sagen, ob und wie dies den Markt für Digital Health prägen wird. Denn die detaillierten Rahmenbedingungen für Direktinvestitionen sind noch unklar - beispielsweise wie das Verlustrisiko der Kassen eingrenzbar ist und wie weit dies die Handlungsfähigkeit eines Venture Capital Vehikels einschränken wird. Wahrscheinlich werden Investitionen am Besten in den Bereichen funktionieren, bei denen Kassen aufgrund ihres Geschäftsmodells auch strategisch ein natürlicher Partner sind. Das gilt beispielsweise für das Feld der chronischen Krankheiten, deren Kosten Kassen tragen müssen oder für den Bereich der anonymisierten Verwendung von Daten aus digitalen Gesundheitsakten, welche Kassen ab 2021 allen Versicherten zur Verfügung stellen müssen. 2020 wird daher ein durchaus spannendes Jahr für unsere Szene! Ich freue mich drauf!

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Du hast für die Allianz weltweit Investments in Digital Health getätigt. Mit Deinem internationalen Blick: Welche Trends zeichnen sich für die Digital-Health-Branche ab? Gibt es hier Unterschiede zwischen Deutschland, Europa und Übersee?

Min-Sung

In Amerika sind wir mit der Telemedizin weiter als in Europa. Obwohl hier auch Firmen wie Doctolib und Kry erhebliche Summen geraised haben. Durch die zunehmende Digitalisierung ist es möglicher von einer Fee-For-Service-Kultur in ein evidenzbasiertes Erstattungssystem zu kommen. Das wird in Europa nicht anders sein.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Woran machst Du fest, ob ein Unternehmen in der digitalen Gesundheitsbranche investitionswürdig ist? Auf welche Kriterien achtest Du besonders?

Min-Sung

Die Marktdynamik und der Revenue sind für mich wichtige Anhaltspunkte. Außerdem achte ich immer sehr stark auf das Team und deren Integrität, Kompetenz, Kompatibilität und Demut.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Woran machst Du fest, ob ein Unternehmen in der digitalen Gesundheitsbranche investitionswürdig ist? Auf welche Kriterien achtest Du besonders?

Min-Sung

Die Marktdynamik und der Revenue sind für mich wichtige Anhaltspunkte. Außerdem achte ich immer sehr stark auf das Team und deren Integrität, Kompetenz, Kompatibilität und Demut.
Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Ärgert man sich über nicht getätigte Investitionen?

Min-Sung

Definitiv. In manchen Fällen ist man aber auch froh nicht investiert zu haben.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Du bist auch Co-Founder von digitalhealthVC. Dort berichtet Ihr mit Eurem Newsletter "15min Digital Health Briefing" regelmäßig über die News und Insights der Digitalen Gesundheitsbranche. Was war in den letzten Monaten aus Deiner Sicht die Nachricht, die für Dich am spannendsten war?

Min-Sung

Ganz klar - vier Digital Health IPOs! Wurde langsam Zeit ;). Generell macht es Spaß, zu sehen, was so alles passiert, auch wenn es manchmal wirklich frustrierend ist. Digital Health ist halt doch noch Neuland, nicht nur in Deutschland, aber auch in Amerika und ganz Europa. Wenn ihr mehr davon lesen wollt, feel free to subscribe here: https://bit.ly/2LRaFh3

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Du bist ja viel unterwegs. Was sind Deine Top 3 Dinge, durch welche Du nach einem Tag voller Termin wieder voll aufladen kannst?

Min-Sung

Spaziergänge mit meinem Labrador, ein gutes Frühstück mit meiner Frau und jeden Tag etwas Neues lernen. So lade ich meine Batterien auf.

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Als Digital Health Enthusiast - welcher moderner digitaler Gadgets bedienst Du Dich und für welche Sportart?

Min-Sung

Ich bin ein großer Fan der Apple-Watch, da sie alle Aktivitäten (inkl. Schwimmen) misst. Außerdem hat eines meiner Laterstage Investments mit Apple eine Kooperation!

Min-Sung Sean Kim

Magnus

Und außerhalb der Gesundheitsbranche, digitalen Medien und Startup-Welt: Was begeistert Dich?

Min-Sung

Ich würde sehr gern wieder zu meiner Klavier Passion zurückfinden. Ich spiele seit meinem 6. Lebensjahr Klavier. Diese Passion habe ich seit ca. 5 Jahren verloren und wünsche mir sie mir wieder herbei.
Min-Sung Sean Kim

YAS.life für Ihr Unternehmen

Bieten Sie Ihrer Zielgruppe eine maßgeschneiderte Lösung für digitale Gesundheitsprävention als kostenloses Bonusprogramm. So fördern Sie mehr Bewegung und einen gesunden Lebensstil. Auf Grundlage unserer Erfahrung mit der YAS-App bieten wir Ihnen individuelle Lösungen an: ob für gesetzliche Krankenkassen, private Versicherungen oder im Rahmen des betrieblichen Gesundheitsmanagements.